Let’s Dance For Comic Relief – celebrity contestants revealed!

Jo Brand, Dragons from Dragons’ Den (Peter Jones, Duncan Bannatyne, Deborah Meaden), Blue Peter presenters (Tim Vincent, Anthea Turner, Mark Curry, Diana Louise Jordan, Peter Duncan, Peter Purves, Janet Ellis, Helen Skelton), Dick & Dom, Keith Lemon & Paddy McGuinness and Robert Webb will be donning their dancing shoes for Let’s Dance For Comic Relief as part of this year’s Red Nose Day Campaign, it was announced today.

Anton Du Beke takes the reins as head panellist and will be joined by two guest panellists each week. Together the viewers and the panel will vote for their favourite dancers to go through to the final.

The show will be hosted by Claudia Winkleman and Steve Jones and launches on BBC One from Saturday 21 February 2009.

The series will run over four weeks, comprising three heats and culminating in a spectacular final dance off on Red Nose Day weekend.

The show will see some of the nation’s favourite celebrities pay homage to iconic dance routines in a bid to wow viewers with their moves and a chance to be crowned champion of the dance floor.

Each week a celebrity act (a mix of solo dancers, duos and groups) will recreate a number of famous dances from movie classics such as Saturday Night Fever and High School Musical – to pop classics such as Baby One More Time (Britney Spears) and Thriller (Michael Jackson).

They will work with a team of top choreographers to master the dance moves and with a team of stylists to represent their dance icon’s look.

They will then take to the floor to give the performance of their lives in front of a live studio audience and a panel of experts.

Who goes through and who gets a chance to compete in the final will be down to the public and the panel.

The final will see six celebrity acts dance for their chance to be crowned the Let’s Dance For Comic Relief Champion on Saturday 14 March 2009.

Don't miss a story: Follow Unreality TV

Comments are closed.